Hokusai

 

I have always had a fascination for Japanese culture from a young age and my admiration has filtered through to the arts. Hokusai is a prolific printmaker and most will recognise his ultra famous wave woodblock. The image has been used in popular culture a lot recently and appropriated in many differing styles yet always retains its form.

 

Screen Shot 2017-01-20 at 14.17.20.png

Screen Shot 2017-01-20 at 14.19.09.png

I often surf at my local Tynemouth beach and wanted to create a wave print capturing the movement I felt there. I went about creating this movement by making lots of small intricate lines flowing with one another. The colours I chose to experiment with were either exaggerated or non naturalistic in response to the technicolour, advertisement, western world i am exposed to.

IMG_0966.jpgScreen Shot 2017-01-20 at 14.16.57.png

Leave a Reply

